Back to Resources
Skilled, Technical & Alternative Careers
·SuperJobs Editorial Team

TVET Careers in Malaysia: The Real 5-Year Return on Skills

TVET Careers in Malaysia: The Real 5-Year Return on Skills

By SuperJobs Team

Quick Answer: TVET is Malaysia's technical and vocational training pathway, and its financial edge is speed. A student at a public TVET institute pays no tuition and can be earning about two years before a degree student, who has to clear matriculation or STPM before the degree even starts. Budget 2026 put RM7.9 billion behind the sector and 2024 employability ran between 95.1% and 96.9% in five of seven fields. But DOSM's 2024 figures show degree holders on a median RM5,724 a month against RM3,390 for diploma holders, so the head start is erased 26 to 32 months after the degree holder starts work.

Two Form Five leavers sit the same SPM. One enrols at an Institut Latihan Perindustrian in July, trains for two years at no tuition cost, and banks a first salary at 20. The other spends a year in matriculation, then three years on a public university degree, and banks a first salary at 22 or 23, carrying somewhere between RM13,320 and RM26,600 of PTPTN borrowing depending on household income. At 23, the first one is clearly ahead. By 27, on median national pay, the second one usually is. Both statements are true, and the space between them is where the real decision sits.

Budget 2026, tabled on 10 October 2025, allocated RM7.9 billion to TVET, up from RM7.5 billion, spread across the 12 ministries that run parts of the ecosystem.

What Is TVET and Why Malaysia Is Doubling Down

TVET stands for technical and vocational education and training. The qualifications are earned by doing the work and assessed on demonstrated competency rather than exam papers.

Jabatan Pembangunan Kemahiran (JPK), under the Ministry of Human Resources, sets the certification spine under the National Skills Development Act 2006 (Act 652). There are five levels:

  • Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia (SKM) Levels 1, 2 and 3
  • Diploma Kemahiran Malaysia (DKM) at Level 4
  • Diploma Lanjutan Kemahiran Malaysia (DLKM) at Level 5

Each level maps to a National Occupational Skills Standard (NOSS) that spells out what a worker at that level must be able to do. Levels 1 to 3 sit at operator and technician competency. Levels 4 and 5 add supervision and technical planning.

The money behind the push is real and recent. Beyond the RM7.9 billion headline, Budget 2026 channelled RM650 million to Perbadanan Tabung Pembangunan Kemahiran (PTPK) to fund more than 25,000 trainees in artificial intelligence, electric vehicles and semiconductors. A separate RM200 million Khazanah programme funds on-the-job training for 11,000 young Malaysians without degrees.

Manufacturing absorbs much of that capacity. Browse manufacturing jobs in Malaysia and read the requirement lines: most entry technician postings ask for SKM Level 2 or 3 in a named trade, not a degree.

Top TVET Institutions in Malaysia (ILP, KKTM, GiatMara)

Twelve ministries run pieces of the system, which is why the acronyms confuse people. The official agency listing at tvet.gov.my sorts them:

Ministry or agency Institutions Scale
Ministry of Human Resources (KSM), via Jabatan Tenaga Manusia ILP, ADTEC, JMTI 33 industrial training institutions
Ministry of Higher Education (KPT) Polytechnics, community colleges, MTUN universities 36 polytechnics, 104 community colleges, 4 technical universities
Ministry of Education (KPM) Kolej Vokasional 86 vocational colleges
Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS) IKBN, IKTBN 22 youth skills institutions
Ministry of Rural and Regional Development (KKDW), via MARA GiatMARA, IKM, KKTM 280 training institutes
Ministry of Works (KKR) Akademi Binaan Malaysia, CIDB Technologies Over 100 skill areas
Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security (KPKM) Agricultural training institutes 16 institutes

Source: Agensi TVET Malaysia listing, tvet.gov.my.

What that means in practice. Institut Latihan Perindustrian (ILP) sits inside the Ministry of Human Resources group and takes PT3 and SPM leavers into SKM Level 1 to 3 programmes. ADTEC, in the same group, runs longer diploma-level training at DKM Level 4. Both are operated by Jabatan Tenaga Manusia, and Malaysian citizens are not charged tuition.

GiatMARA, Institut Kemahiran MARA (IKM) and Kolej Kemahiran Tinggi MARA (KKTM) sit under MARA, which reports to KKDW. GiatMARA is the widest network and runs short and certificate-level skills courses close to where people live. KKTM carries the higher technical programmes in that family.

Polytechnics and community colleges are the Ministry of Higher Education route. They award diplomas and certificates, and because they are accredited higher education institutions, students apply for PTPTN rather than PTPK. Kolej Vokasional under the Ministry of Education takes students straight after Form Three into Sijil Vokasional Malaysia.

Applications to public TVET institutions are coordinated through the UP_TVET portal at mohon.tvet.gov.my. Check the intake calendar there rather than applying institution by institution.

Highest-Paying TVET Programmes in 2026

No official national table of starting salaries by TVET programme exists in Malaysia. Any list showing precise pay for every course has estimated it. Three sourced data points do exist, and they point the same way.

Ministry of Human Resources figures, carried in 2026 by Malaysian media summarising a ministry announcement rather than in a release we could read directly, showed 343,836 TVET-related vacancies on MYFutureJobs between 1 January and 30 June 2026, with an average advertised salary of RM3,658 a month. That pool mixes junior technicians with experienced specialists and supervisors, so treat it as a sector ceiling rather than a fresh-graduate number.

The National TVET Council said in September 2024 that selected employer partnership programmes were offering premium starting salaries of RM2,500 to RM4,000. Reporting in 2026 on the New Industrial Master Plan 2030 put starting salaries for jobs created in high-impact sectors at RM4,000 to RM10,000, naming electrical and electronics, pharmaceuticals and aerospace. Read that range carefully: the source attributes it to those jobs across every qualification level, not to TVET entrants. For contrast, the median salary in the manufacturing sector as a whole moved from RM2,360 in 2023 to RM2,490 in 2024.

One pattern holds across all three: the sector pays, not the certificate. Malaysian Employers Federation president Datuk Dr Syed Hussain Syed Husman put it directly at National TVET Day in June 2026, saying "salary levels are not determined solely by academic qualifications, but by the productivity value an employee can offer to an employer". He named AI, machine learning, cybersecurity, data engineering and renewable energy as the fields where premiums concentrate.

The practical reading for a school leaver: choose the trade by where industrial capital is going. Semiconductor and E&E equipment maintenance, industrial automation and mechatronics, high-voltage and solar installation, aircraft maintenance and instrumentation are the areas Malaysian industrial policy is actively funding. Welding, HVAC and general automotive keep you employed, but the published evidence of premium pay sits with the first group. Browse engineering jobs in Malaysia and compare advertised bands against salary insights before committing two years to a course.

TVET vs Traditional Degree: 5-Year ROI Comparison

Here is the calculation with every input named, so you can argue with it.

One number is modelled rather than published: a RM2,000 starting salary for a public TVET graduate. Two current markers bracket it. The national minimum wage is RM1,700, and the National TVET Council's September 2024 figure for employer partnership programmes was RM2,500 to RM4,000. RM2,000 sits between the floor and the premium band, which is why the model uses it.

A widely quoted Khazanah Research Institute analysis found that just over 10% of TVET graduates earned more than RM2,000 a month. Check its vintage before leaning on it. The piece was published in May 2023 and runs on Ministry of Higher Education Graduate Tracer Study data reaching only to 2020, when the minimum wage was RM1,100 to RM1,200. Two minimum-wage increases have landed since. A statistic about how many workers clear RM2,000 is mostly a statistic about the wage floor, so it is not used as an input here.

The degree column models the most common route after SPM: one year of matriculation or asasi, then a three-year bachelor's degree. STPM takes one and a half to two years instead, and engineering degrees run four years, both of which push the numbers further in the degree student's disfavour. That variant is in the caveats.

Input Public TVET pathway Public university degree
Training after SPM 2 years (SKM 1 to 3) 1 year matriculation or asasi, or 1.5 to 2 years STPM, then a 3-year degree (4 years for engineering). Modelled here as 1 + 3 = 4 years
Tuition paid by the student No tuition charged to citizens at ILP, ADTEC and IKBN, per mytvet.my; the operator's own fee schedule could not be retrieved IPTA fee schedules could not be retrieved either, so no figure is stated. Fees are subsidised and PTPTN lends against them
Study borrowing available RM0 needed at a public institute; RM5,000 to RM24,000 on a PTPK loan at a private centre Science degree, per year: RM6,650 for STR recipients, RM4,990 below RM8,000 household income, RM3,330 above it. Over four years: RM26,600, RM19,960 or RM13,320
Age at first salary About 20 About 22 to 23
Assumed starting pay RM2,000 (modelled) Not modelled; no verified national fresh-graduate figure
Earned before the degree holder starts 24 months at RM2,000 = RM48,000 RM0
Median monthly pay by qualification, DOSM 2024 RM3,390 (diploma) RM5,724 (degree)
Median monthly gap once both are working RM2,334 in the degree holder's favour
Months to erase a RM48,000 head start, no debt 21 months
Months to erase the head start plus PTPTN debt 26 months on RM13,320, 29 months on RM19,960, 32 months on RM26,600
Cumulative gross earnings 5 years after SPM RM88,680 RM68,688, before RM13,320 to RM26,600 of debt

Sources: DOSM Graduates Statistics 2024, released 31 October 2025. PTPTN loan tiers as reported by EasyUni in May 2026; ptptn.gov.my returned HTTP 403 on fetch, so the tiers are as reported and could not be confirmed on PTPTN's own site. The zero-tuition position at ILP, ADTEC and IKBN rests on mytvet.my, because jtm.gov.my and dsd.gov.my both fail TLS certificate verification.

Work out which PTPTN tier applies to you before using any of this. The RM6,650 a year figure is only for households receiving Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah. It drops to RM4,990 if household income is below RM8,000 a month and RM3,330 above that. Most readers are not on the top tier, which is why the crossover is a range rather than the single number this comparison is usually reduced to.

What the numbers say is not the headline most people want. Under median conditions the TVET pathway wins the first five years after SPM and loses the tenth. Between 26 and 32 months after the degree holder starts work, near age 25, cumulative earnings cross over, and the median degree holder keeps pulling away after that.

Six caveats matter more than the crossover date:

  1. DOSM's medians cover every working degree and diploma holder in Malaysia at every age, on both sides of the table. That inflates the degree holder's year-one pay and the TVET graduate's year-three pay alike. The real year-one gap is far smaller than RM2,334, which pushes the crossover later than 32 months.
  2. The RM3,390 diploma median stands in for a DKM Level 4 holder, not an SKM Level 3 holder. The pathway modelled here probably sits below it unless the graduate stacks up to Level 4.
  3. The diploma median also includes diplomas with no TVET connection at all.
  4. An engineering degree runs four years, not three, so the head start becomes 36 months and RM72,000. On the same monthly gap the crossover moves out to 37 months at the lowest debt tier and 42 months at the highest.
  5. The model assumes the degree holder lands a graduate-level job. DOSM put graduate unemployment at 3.2% in 2024.
  6. It ignores what the TVET graduate does with the two-year head start. Stacking to DKM and DLKM, or moving into semiconductor or automation work, redraws the whole line.

So the honest verdict: on national median data, TVET does not beat a degree across a full career. It beats a degree on risk. No tuition debt, a salary at 20, and field employability between 95.1% and 96.9% in five of seven fields in 2024 is a very different bet from four or five funded years of study. If you already know you want to work with equipment, the TVET arithmetic is strong. If you are aiming at a licensed profession or a corporate ladder, the degree still pays more over time.

Financial Support: PTPK, SLDN and Other TVET Funding

PTPK is the Skills Development Fund Corporation, a statutory body under the Ministry of Human Resources. It lends to Malaysians training towards SKM, DKM and DLKM at accredited providers, covering course fees, equipment and living costs. Budget 2026 gave it RM650 million aimed at more than 25,000 trainees in AI, EV and semiconductor fields. Loan sizes are commonly quoted in the RM5,000 to RM24,000 range depending on the programme; confirm the current schedule on the PTPK portal before you budget around it.

Sistem Latihan Dual Nasional (SLDN) is the apprenticeship route, run by JPK under Act 652. Trainees spend roughly 70% of their time working at a registered employer under an assigned mentor and 30% at a training centre such as an ILP, ADTEC, GiatMARA or community college. Programmes typically run 12 to 24 months, the employer pays a monthly allowance, and registration goes through the MySPIKE portal. Two advantages are structural: you earn from month one, and the employer has already invested in you before you finish.

Other funding worth checking:

  • Dermasiswa B40, administered by JPA for B40 SPM leavers on TVET diploma programmes, is a sponsorship with a living allowance and no repayment.
  • PTPTN covers polytechnic and community college diplomas and degrees at a flat 1% ujrah. The amount is income-tiered rather than flat: for a science degree at a public institution it is RM6,650 a year for Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah recipients, RM4,990 where household income is under RM8,000 a month, and RM3,330 above that, under a stated household income ceiling of RM50,000 a month. Those figures come from secondary reporting because ptptn.gov.my returned an HTTP 403 when checked, so confirm them on the PTPTN portal.
  • Public institutes run by KSM and KBS, including ILP, ADTEC and IKBN, charge citizens no tuition and generally provide hostel, meals and a small monthly allowance, reported at RM100 a month and RM300 during industrial practical. That position is documented on mytvet.my rather than on an operator fee schedule, because jtm.gov.my and dsd.gov.my both fail TLS certificate verification.
  • HRD Corp levy-funded training opens up once you are employed by a registered employer, which is how most technicians pay for later upskilling.

Scheme names and amounts change between budgets. Verify current terms on the agency's own portal before signing.

Employer Perception: Are TVET Grads Valued?

Employability is the strongest card TVET holds. In a parliamentary written reply in January 2026, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi gave TVET graduate employment rates by field:

Field 2023 2024
Arts and humanities Not stated 96.9%
Services Not stated 96.6%
ICT 95.4% 96.5%
Business, administration and law 95.3% 96.3%
Engineering, manufacturing and construction 94.8% 95.1%
Health and welfare 93.7% 89.5%
Education 84.6% 80.7%

Source: Parliamentary written reply, January 2026, reported by The Star.

Two fields moved backwards, so the picture is not uniformly good. Health and welfare fell nearly four points and education fell close to four.

Employment is also not the same thing as pay. Khazanah Research Institute's finding that just over 10% of TVET graduates earned above RM2,000 a month sits uncomfortably beside a 95% employability rate, though that finding rests on Graduate Tracer Study data reaching only 2020, when the wage floor was RM1,100 to RM1,200. Treat it as evidence of a historic pay problem rather than a reading of what a technician earns in 2026. The Deputy Prime Minister's 2023 public call for employers to offer RM3,000 starting salaries only makes sense because the market was not paying it.

MEF's 2026 position explains the gap from the employer's side: premiums go to demonstrated productivity in technologically mature sectors, not to the certificate itself. That is actionable rather than discouraging. Two candidates with the same SKM Level 3 are not interchangeable if one has documented machine hours, a safety card and a portfolio of completed jobs. Employers hiring technicians read that section of a CV first, so run a CV check before you send it.

Career Progression Beyond a TVET Certificate

An SKM Level 3 is a starting position, not a ceiling, and the ladder is deliberately connected.

The vertical route runs SKM Level 3 to DKM at Level 4, then DLKM at Level 5, which can be used to apply for degree programmes including at the four Malaysian Technical University Network institutions. People do complete this while working, one level at a time, employer-funded. It also matters to the ROI arithmetic above: the diploma median that makes the TVET column look reasonable belongs to Level 4, so stacking is how a Level 3 holder actually reaches it.

The recognition route matters for anyone already working. Pengiktirafan Pencapaian Terdahulu (PPT), the Recognition of Prior Achievement pathway under JPK, certifies skills you already have through assessment rather than a full course. A workshop hand with six years of experience and no paper can be certified against the same NOSS standard as a graduate.

The lateral routes are where pay usually jumps. Technicians move into supervision, quality assurance, safety, maintenance planning, commissioning and training. A certified trainer or an accredited assessor at a JPK centre earns from the certification itself. Contracting is the other common path: many Malaysian workshops and installation firms were started by someone who spent five years on the tools first. Our guide to high-paying skilled trade jobs in Malaysia covers which roles support that jump and the licensing behind them.

Map the sequence before you enrol. The career planner helps you set the level-by-level target, and companies hiring in Malaysia shows which employers run structured technician progression.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is TVET better than a university degree in Malaysia?

It depends on the timeline. A public TVET student pays no tuition and starts earning around age 20. A degree student clears matriculation or STPM first, then three to four years of study, and may borrow RM13,320 to RM26,600 from PTPTN depending on household income. DOSM's Graduates Statistics 2024 puts the median degree holder on RM5,724 a month against RM3,390 for diploma holders, so the degree erases that head start 26 to 32 months after graduation. TVET wins on cost and speed, a degree wins on long-run median pay.

How much do TVET graduates earn in Malaysia?

There is no official national starting salary for TVET graduates. Ministry of Human Resources figures reported in 2026 showed 343,836 TVET-related vacancies on MYFutureJobs in the first half of 2026 with an average advertised salary of RM3,658, but that pool includes experienced technicians and supervisors. The National TVET Council said in September 2024 that selected employer partnership programmes paid RM2,500 to RM4,000 to start. With the national minimum wage at RM1,700, realistic entry pay sits between those two markers.

How much can I borrow from PTPTN for a degree in Malaysia?

PTPTN's maximum is tiered by household income, not flat. For a science degree at a public institution the reported yearly maximums are RM6,650 for Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah recipients, RM4,990 where household income is below RM8,000 a month, and RM3,330 above that, which is RM26,600, RM19,960 or RM13,320 across four years. The charge is a flat 1 percent ujrah. These tiers come from secondary reporting, so confirm your own tier on the PTPTN portal before budgeting.

What are the SKM levels in Malaysia?

Jabatan Pembangunan Kemahiran awards five levels under the National Skills Development Act 2006. Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia covers Levels 1, 2 and 3. Diploma Kemahiran Malaysia is Level 4 and Diploma Lanjutan Kemahiran Malaysia is Level 5. Each level maps to a National Occupational Skills Standard describing exactly what a worker at that level must be able to do on the job, which is why employers advertise for a specific level rather than a general certificate.

Is TVET free in Malaysia?

At public institutes run by the Ministry of Human Resources and the Ministry of Youth and Sports, including ILP, ADTEC and IKBN, Malaysian citizens pay no tuition and are generally provided hostel, meals and a small monthly allowance, according to published TVET guidance rather than an operator fee schedule. Polytechnics and community colleges charge low subsidised fees and accept PTPTN. Private accredited skills centres do charge, and PTPK loans exist for students taking that route.

Which TVET courses pay the most in Malaysia?

Pay follows the sector rather than the certificate. Reporting in 2026 on the New Industrial Master Plan 2030 placed starting salaries for jobs created in high-impact sectors, including electrical and electronics, pharmaceuticals and aerospace, at RM4,000 to RM10,000. That range covers all qualification levels, not TVET entrants specifically. TVET-related vacancies across all experience levels averaged RM3,658 in the first half of 2026. The Malaysian Employers Federation said in June 2026 that premiums concentrate in AI, cybersecurity, data engineering and renewable energy.

Take the Next Step

?Frequently Asked Questions

Is TVET better than a university degree in Malaysia?

It depends on the timeline. A public TVET student pays no tuition and starts earning around age 20. A degree student clears matriculation or STPM first, then three to four years of study, and may borrow RM13,320 to RM26,600 from PTPTN depending on household income. DOSM's Graduates Statistics 2024 puts the median degree holder on RM5,724 a month against RM3,390 for diploma holders, so the degree erases that head start 26 to 32 months after graduation. TVET wins on cost and speed, a degree wins on long-run median pay.

How much do TVET graduates earn in Malaysia?

There is no official national starting salary for TVET graduates. Ministry of Human Resources figures reported in 2026 showed 343,836 TVET-related vacancies on MYFutureJobs in the first half of 2026 with an average advertised salary of RM3,658, but that pool includes experienced technicians and supervisors. The National TVET Council said in September 2024 that selected employer partnership programmes paid RM2,500 to RM4,000 to start. With the national minimum wage at RM1,700, realistic entry pay sits between those two markers.

How much can I borrow from PTPTN for a degree in Malaysia?

PTPTN's maximum is tiered by household income, not flat. For a science degree at a public institution the reported yearly maximums are RM6,650 for Sumbangan Tunai Rahmah recipients, RM4,990 where household income is below RM8,000 a month, and RM3,330 above that, which is RM26,600, RM19,960 or RM13,320 across four years. The charge is a flat 1 percent ujrah. These tiers come from secondary reporting, so confirm your own tier on the PTPTN portal before budgeting.

What are the SKM levels in Malaysia?

Jabatan Pembangunan Kemahiran awards five levels under the National Skills Development Act 2006. Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia covers Levels 1, 2 and 3. Diploma Kemahiran Malaysia is Level 4 and Diploma Lanjutan Kemahiran Malaysia is Level 5. Each level maps to a National Occupational Skills Standard describing exactly what a worker at that level must be able to do on the job, which is why employers advertise for a specific level rather than a general certificate.

Is TVET free in Malaysia?

At public institutes run by the Ministry of Human Resources and the Ministry of Youth and Sports, including ILP, ADTEC and IKBN, Malaysian citizens pay no tuition and are generally provided hostel, meals and a small monthly allowance, according to published TVET guidance rather than an operator fee schedule. Polytechnics and community colleges charge low subsidised fees and accept PTPTN. Private accredited skills centres do charge, and PTPK loans exist for students taking that route.

Which TVET courses pay the most in Malaysia?

Pay follows the sector rather than the certificate. Reporting in 2026 on the New Industrial Master Plan 2030 placed starting salaries for jobs created in high-impact sectors, including electrical and electronics, pharmaceuticals and aerospace, at RM4,000 to RM10,000. That range covers all qualification levels, not TVET entrants specifically. TVET-related vacancies across all experience levels averaged RM3,658 in the first half of 2026. The Malaysian Employers Federation said in June 2026 that premiums concentrate in AI, cybersecurity, data engineering and renewable energy.


Ready to find your next role?

Browse open positions across Malaysia in tech, finance, healthcare and more.